Twitter   Facebook   Instagram   YouTube
search the site
Austin Clarke: Essays On His Works
Guernica Editions, Spring 2013
408 pages
Trade Paperback
ISBN13: 9781550717235
ISBN10: 1550717235
$20.00 Canada, $20.00 US

Read more from the Essential Writers Series

  Eligible for a free book
Culminating with the international success of The Polished Hoe in 2002, Austin Clarke has published 11 novels, six short-story collections, four memoirs, and two non-fiction pieces. His latest work, a long-form poem titled Where the Sun Shines Best (Guernica Editions), was published in 2013. Storm of Fortune, the second novel in his Toronto Trilogy about the lives of Barbadian immigrants, was shortlisted for the Governor General's Award in 1973. The Origin of Waves won the Rogers Communications Writers' Development Trust Prize for Fiction in 1997. In 1999 his ninth novel, The Question, was shortlisted for the Governor General's Award. In 2003 he had a private audience with Queen Elisabeth in honour of his Commonwealth Prize for his novel, The Polished Hoe, which also won the Giller Prize in 2002. Clarke has also received a Toronto Arts Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature (1992) and in 1998 he was invested with the Order of Canada. In 1999 he received the Martin Luther King Junior Award for Excellence in Writing. In 2012, he was the recipient of the $10,000 Harbourfront Award. This collection includes essays by Michael Buchnor, George Elliott Clarke, Daniel Coleman, Camille Isaacs, Smaro Kamboureli, Linda MacKinley-Hay, Brinda J. Mehta, Sarah Phillips Casteel, Maggie Quirt, Victor J. Ramraj, Marquita R. Smith, and Batia Boe Stolar.
I can think of no other Canadian author writing at the time who documented the West Indian immigrant's condition not only for West Indian immigrants themselves and their descendants, but also for white Canadians, so that they could see the racist and discriminatory manner in which those immigrants were treated.

Books by Camille A. Isaacs

Austin Clarke: Essays On His Works